The Starving Artist: Chapter 22: Is It A Huge Weight Off My Shoulders?

This is a Weigh in Week. And I hate them. Don’t get me wrong, I’m totally digging on the way my new fitness regime helps me feel about myself. My skin doesn’t feel as floppy and loose. My butt is higher. My breathing is easier. The problem is; for as long as I can remember, I have been roughly the same size. Well, I can remember my Momma buying me a 6x in the kids department, but after that it’s pretty much all the same. People have always said I carry my weight well. Yippee skippy, a camouflaged chubby girl is still a chubby girl. What I think they notice is that when my weight is up it’s typically evenly distributed over my body. Contrary, when my weight is down it shows in my face, arms and legs. Yippee Skippy, an orange with 4 toothpicks stuck into it and a jelly belly for the head. Neither is the image I want to exude.

When I started this initiative in October, I thought it would be soooo easy. Put your mind to something and stick to it. I thought being away from trigger foods and having a more diligent exercise schedule the weight would just fall off. I hoped that progress would just happen. But as they say, nothing worth doing is worth being done halfway. So, maybe I should admit a few things…

Moments of Honesty:
1. I could eat better. I like junk food.
2. I am easily convinced to eat meat, when all it does is deliciously disagree with me.
3. I like eating late at night. I love pasta. I love pasta late at night.
4. I could work harder. I could exert more. My body is sore, stiff and achy, but I could put more effort into my exercise.
5. I want the results without any of the work.
6. Exercise and eating right work. But only when you honestly commit to both.

So, without further adieu: Week 18 measurements

Height still 5’8″
Weight 169.8 (-3.8 lbs)
Bust 39 (-1″)
Natural waist 32 (-1.5″)
Hips 43.5 (-.5″)
Arm flex r:13 (-.5″) l:13 (-.5″)
Arm rest r: 12.5 (-/+) l:12.5 (-.25″)
Thigh standing r: 25 (-/+) l:25 (+.5″)

For a total loss of 4.75 inches and 3.8 lbs
A loss is still a good thing, but I know I can do better. See you in 6 weeks. And hopefully then you’ll notice how much less of me you do see.

The Starving Artist: Chapter 22: Is It A Huge Weight Off My Shoulders?

4 thoughts on “The Starving Artist: Chapter 22: Is It A Huge Weight Off My Shoulders?

  1. BFF says:

    I agree with momma. That’s great progress! I’m not sure why you’re always unhappy with it. Then again, you are impossible to please.

    If you snort a pound of cocaine you could look deathly skinny like Kate Moss. Will that make you happy? At least it’ll make your brain think you are. 😉

    1. Well, I compared my starting measurements with my current measurements…the change is not much, most of these losses I attribute to leftover Holiday bulk. Now, the real changes will begin.

      As for the coke…despite the size of my nostrils I am afraid to put anything up there. But that’s a story for another day!

      Plus how would I know who was paying attention if I didn’t grumble a bit;)

Leave a Reply

