Hooked On Sel-FISH

Now, for those of you who know me, you know I have trouble sticking to things. My brain learns novelties quickly. My heart falls for the infatuation of fascination. But my interest is easily swayed into exploring undiscovered territories. Let’s see, in the last year I’ve learned the ukulele, hula hooping, web-mastering, power yoga, patience and scheduling. I am still learning to juggle, pole dance, songwriting, stretching, patience and scheduling. The things I knew but needed work: writing. Especially my grammar. Boy, did it needed work. My spelling and all the technical grade school elements, the ones I had convinced myself I didn’t need… well, I’ll need them if I am going to be a writer. Hubby says I collect hobbies, cuz none of my interests make money (yet). Though I suppose I could be the world’s first and only ukulele juggling pole dancer…

Growing up artistic in a small town, I was a big fish in a little pond. I was the best and brightest. I was lauded and praised. By my family and the community. Looking back I am not sure if it was because of actual talent or if it was my enthusiasm. People often confuse tenacity and talent as the same thing. I was an actor, a singer, an all around performer. My talent hit or miss because of my inability to focus. I always had my head in the clouds. Day dreaming about how fabulous things could be, without doing any of the actual work to help become fabulous. Class clowning was my favourite subject. I could get by without trying and I was better than most. But better than most isn’t as good as the best, so, you know what that means? Mediocre. Average. The middle. That may sound harsh, but average is where most of us live most of the time. Greatness is hard. It takes practise, determination, effort, dedication and focus. Plus talent and ability.

Now, from what I’ve heard, I’ve got a smattering of all those qualities. But it took me 31 years to realize that I need to be the one to prove myself. There will never be another person who will be a bigger cheerleader for me. It’s my job to become better than I am, and then push further. I grew tired of waiting for others to realize I was great. So, I started learning how to show them. Having moved from my little pond, I’m now a little fish flip flopping on the floor outside a large fish tank. I have realized that if I am going to make this artistic talent work for me I need to focus on getting into the water. This past year has been great for me. Learning all this Knick knack knowledge and popular parlour tricks will hopefully unite the two schools of talent with tenacity. As for this little fishy, I’m hoping to make a splash.

Hooked On Sel-FISH

2 thoughts on “Hooked On Sel-FISH

Leave a Reply

