How Can You Lend A Broken Heart

They say that breaking up is hard to do. Even in the worst relationships; wrought with fighting, lies and infidelities the end can leave us wanting. Being such an accomplished relationship expert *insert eye roll*; I rely heavily on the adages I’ve heard all my life. An ounce of prevention is worth pound of cure. Follow your heart. An eye for an eye and the whole world goes blind. So, when one of my inner circle is suffering from the agony, anxiety and angst of dealing with a break up, I know just what to say. But it’s nothing they haven’t already heard.

When we feel the saddest, all we can do is seek comfort in the things that have comforted us in the past. Even Southern Comfort-ing to numb the hurt. Wanting to wrap ourselves up in a blanket of memories; then smother those memories with cheese doodles and Julia Roberts. Coating everything in orange and despair. Our already bleak love life outlook growing bleaker. The sunny days of love, left behind us. Taking off our rose coloured glasses and facing our new journey alone. The crushing loneliness of second guessing our choices and ourselves. The empty days following a break-up seem so full of time…Time you suddenly wish you would’ve invested in your relationship. But that ship has sailed. So, maybe it’s time to try a train, plane or automobile.

The most important thing I can impart is that no matter how painful, heartbreaking and all around awful; each new experience can be a lesson. If you are brave enough to learn from them. It may take time, distance and all the effort you can muster, but you will learn something. I know that not every heartache is the same, and for me to sit at my iPad mini and tell you to do this, or feel that, well, it’s just not right. But I want you to know that when you are ready for my opinion, a slew of adages and my olde fashion sensibility, I will be here Mon-Friday laying it out online. Until then, I want all those with broken hearts and fractured lives to know: Life goes on. You’ve got a friend in me. You’re only as old as you feel. And you live, you learn. Oh and as the saying goes: No blogger knows less, than the blogger who knows it all;)

How Can You Lend A Broken Heart

Leave a Reply

