The Starving Artist: Chapter 41: Crafternoon Delight

This weekend was a beautiful one. The weather was clear and hot. The air was fresh, filled with all the smells of summertime. The din overcome with the sound of laughter and music. The drum circle beating for the heart of the city. I walked Queen St with a bounce in my step. I did something nutty…I crafted all weekend. I crafted hard. I spent long hours literally wrapped up, immobilized, stabilized and helpless. It’s left me tired and happy.

With the promise of help from Hubby and a truckload of patience, understanding and work ethic from BFF, we started to build the most complicated yet integral plot prop I’ve ever conceptualized. Together we sat nestled for hours in the front yard of my high-density city living building. With nosy neighbours and concerned citizens inquiring as to our wellbeing…I think they meant mentally. With oblivious disregard to their giggles and questioning stares we forged onward. Empowered by the knowledge that great things raise the most eyebrows.

I sat in the grass with my BFF for two days; fabricating indestructible props of plaster proportions. I have started to implement my dream designs, taking her generous offer to help build my act for my upcoming shows. I needed the help. Trust me, I am not the easiest person to deal with when I can’t just do it myself. I don’t like being sidelined. I like to be in control. I like to win and I like it when things are done right the first time. I should know by now that those are also qualities BFF posses, plus she’s more patient…A lot more patient. (Again BFF, Thank you & I apologize)

As every crafter knows, the dream outcome is a lofty goal. Everything is possible when you’re in the dream design stage, but translating it to reality, well, that’s a different story. I am happy to announce these messy, soggy, drippy and slow-drying dreams have hit their mark and surpassed their design. They have become perfectly moulded, weird, wonderful, dreamy and just plain amazing. I am proud to announce this as the most successful crafternoon ever.

Now, it bugs me that I can’t tell you the details of this secret project, but it is my hope the reveal will be worth the wait. All I want to do it tell you every little detail of all the detail oriented tasks I have assigned myself. Keeping a secret has never been my strong suit, I am more of an open neckline playsuit kinda gal. This feeling of checking things off my dream wish list is amazing…exhausting, but amazing. It’s been a long time since I’ve felt artistic. I haven’t been inspired to achieve. I was stuck in a holding pattern, circling boredom. I would sit with fingers crossed, mouthing silently; begging who ever is in charge of this crazy thing called life for a break…I have longed for the power to inspire myself. In these art projects I have found the fabulous combination of control and creativity. I think I’ve finally found my place upon the wicked stage. It comes from being a crafty Vixen. Finally, I found my art in the heart of the city. And I am happy.

The Starving Artist: Chapter 41: Crafternoon Delight

One thought on “The Starving Artist: Chapter 41: Crafternoon Delight

  1. BFF says:

    Your first and last sentences sum it up entirely for me: “This weekend was a beautiful one and I am happy.”

    I can’t wait for the big reveal!

    xo

Leave a Reply

