Sending Out A 01010011 01001111 01010011

So, for the last few days I’ve watched the #TIFF13 media hub, I mean Facebook, and I was delighted to see how well my friends clean up. I mean, all in all I am surrounded by beautiful people. And most of them are doing beautiful things. The weirdest thing though, they keep appearing in each-other’s pics. Like the 7 degrees aren’t actually about Bacon anymore, they’re more like 3 degrees of poutine. I see friends shaking hands, saying “How do you do?”, but we all know what they’re really saying. I’m instalerted when they are on the move or lovin’ their life today. I spend all day thumbing through 4 second videos and thumbs upping the status quo and hitching a ride on the information highway. And now, I find myself at the computer, it’s late and I’m tired, and worn out from a day of letting my fingers do the walking, social trolling and sharing the best link. I mean trying not to share so much…but not really.

I have gluttonous obsession with the WWW, even though Hubby says I no longer have to say the double Ws. BFF calls me a Selfie Queen. I am the reigning ruler of a kingdom that didn’t exist 2 years ago. All Hail the camera phone! A fav quote that floats in and out of nearly every digital and analog convo with the BFF is “Privacy is non-negotiable”. But I gotta be honest, it appears that everything is negotiable. Every little private thing is available online. I mean everything. I mean heck, I have my own website, where I rant and rave and piss and moan. And nobody asked for that, but here it is. The interweb has changed my life in so many ways these last 11,434 days or 1633 weeks and 2 days or 274,392 hours or 16,463,520 minutes or 987,811,200 seconds… which all equal approximately how long the internet has been, you know, a thing. I also figured out that almost any question you will ever ask has already be answered on the Google. Like if it’s September 10th, how long ago was the internet invented? It’s a special kinda magic.

The point. The point? At this point, that’s something you may be looking for, so here she is. The point is, what’s web got to do, got to do with it? And I’m not entirely sure. I don’t have a frame of reference for a world where Facebook wasn’t used for most life things. I don’t remember a grown up time when I couldn’t watch all these other special little lives unfold around me. I feel closer with people who are far away. I feel more informed, though perhaps less effective. I surf and shop and stew and scan in widening social circles. I bombard, I bluster, occasionally, I brag. I invite and entice. I like and lol-sometimes, though mostly I just kill time looking at the never ending clever ideas like #catbearding. lol. But what I really want is to know that someone out there hears me. That someone on this crazy, beautiful journey is caught in this very same web. Hello? Can you hear me Rod, it’s me, Melicious? And no matter what I google, I’m always feeling lucky.

PS the title is Binary code for SOS;) for all those non-bots out there

Sending Out A 01010011 01001111 01010011

Leave a Reply

