TalkBack Tuesday Topics: Early Retirement

In the last few days I’ve been working my Joe-Job, which is great finance-wise, but not too awesome creative/love/emotion-wise. You know, so it got me thinking about working harder vs working smarter…And stuff like that. As always feel free to weigh in, in the comment space provided below.

Would you rather:
Work 5 days a week for 10 hours a day for the next 20 years and then retire comfortably
OR
Work 7 days a week for 20 hours a day for the next 5 years and retire a millionaire

As a fan of ‘let’s get this over with mentality’ my instinct is to say work solidly for the next 5 years, especially if I get to come out a millionaire. But I do love a lazy Sunday. Though being a retired millionaire before my 40th birthday is very tempting. So, lets go fast and hard. Then lazy Sunday everyday!

Would you rather:
Never walk again but have everything you’ve ever wanted
OR
Dance everyday until your death but always struggle to make ends meet

Um the problem with this is that if I can’t dance, I’d never have everything I wanted. Life will always be challenging but sometimes a little bit of dancing goes a long way.

Would you rather:
Have to carry around 100 more pounds but happy with your job
OR
Be almost weightless but hate every minute of your job

I don’t want to work that hard to be happy…can you imagine carrying around all that extra poundage? Yuck. By expending all that extra effort, it might actually make me sad. But the idea of hating work while floating through life, isn’t too shabby. I could do that, unless it’s a 9-5 job, 5 days a week. Then let me carry the weigh at my freelance 3 days on 4 days off job.

TalkBack Tuesday Topics: Early Retirement

Leave a Reply

